Flash fiction submission- another rejection

I just heard back from The Writer magazine’s 2020 Summer Flash Contest, and as much as I hoped my entry was going to get published, no dice this time.

Sad Rain Cloud Icon Stock Illustrations – 318 Sad Rain Cloud Icon Stock  Illustrations, Vectors & Clipart - Dreamstime
I’m just a little black rain cloud

Now keep in mind they did let me know, it was a submission fee well spent, and the rejection was possibly the nicest of the bunch.

Now I know what you’re all wondering. Does this mean I’m a crappy writer? Perhaps, does this mean I should quit trying for the Never After Anthology? HECK NO! This means I should keep on submitting and keep trying. Look this is the reality for an unknown, unpublished, writer. I have one novel that’s dead, twenty three rejections and now one contest submission rejection.

Do you know what this means? I’m now a career writer.

Evil Laugh Yzma GIF - EvilLaugh Yzma EmperorsNewGroove - Discover & Share  GIFs

Not an author just yet but I’m getting there. All it takes is one yes.

So I hope that you are submitting too, and if you’ve found success please share your story. Or if you want to commiserate, you know the old saying, Misery loves company. The good news is I’ve got whine to share. Ha ha- see what I did- oh forget it. See you in the comments.

Published by Holly Smith

No one realizes that being a career writer is tough and how lonely the experience is. From writing groups, critiques, contests, submissions, querying. I want every writer to know that they are not alone in the frustrating experience. Writing was the fun part, publishing can be hell. So follow along with what I'm currently doing as a writer and hopefully you won't feel so bad about trying to reach author status.

2 thoughts on “Flash fiction submission- another rejection

  1. It is very difficult to appease to agents and contests and editors and publishers out there. I did it too and got many rejections. Although it didn’t detract me from writing, I just started believing that I was not a good fit for them, but still a good fit for me. Someone is reading my stuff, on two blogs no less, so after a while I stopped submitting. But this doesn’t mean I will stop indefinitely, and neither should you. Keep trying but don’t put all your eggs in one basket.

    Good luck!

    Like

    1. Absolutely the best advice. Submit to contests, agents, publishing houses. It is depressing at points but I really love your outlook. It might not be a good fit for them but it’s a good fit for you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started